Presbyterian College Men’s Basketball Head Coach Dustin Kerns was named finalist for the 2019 Jim Phelan National Coach of the Year Award, as well as the Hugh Durham Award, it was announced Friday.  This marks the first time a coach has been named a finalist for a national coach of the year award while at PC.


“It is incredibly humbling to be named a finalist for these awards,” said Kerns, who is in his second season at PC. “The credit goes to the hard work by our entire coaching staff, support staff, and without question the players. I share the recognition with every member of our program.”


The Jim Phelan National Coach of the Year Award, formerly the National Coach of the Year Award from 2003 to 2009, is an award given annually to the most outstanding men's college basketball head coach in NCAA Division I.  The award was established in 2003 and was renamed for legendary head coach Jim Phelan, who spent his entire 49-year coaching at Mount St. Mary’s, compiling 830 wins in 1,354 games.  He was inducted into the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame in 2008.

The Hugh Durham Award is presented annually to the nation's top mid-major coach.  In eight seasons as the head coach at Jacksonville University, Durham became the Dolphins' all-time winningest Division I coach (106 wins), making him the only coach in NCAA history to be the winningest coach (pct. or wins) at three different Division I schools.


With an 18-15 record Presbyterian College is having its best season in Division I history.  The Blue Hose will play in their first Division I postseason tournament when they take part in the Postseason Tournament next week   The Blue Hose tied their DI conference win total, while the overall wins are the most in PC Di history.  The team has already broken several PC DI season records, including scoring, rebounding, assists, and scoring margin.  The Blue Hose lead the league in assists, assist/turnover ratio, and are top three in scoring and scoring margin.  In the national statistics PC is top 10 in assist/turnover ratio, three-pointers per game, three-pointers made, and in turnovers.


The recipient of the 2019 Jim Phelan and Hugh Durham awards will be announced on April 5 at the College Insider Awards Event, in Minneapolis, site of the 2019 NCAA division I basketball championship.



Rick Barnes, Tennessee

Chris Beard, Texas Tech

John Beilein, Michigan

Tony Bennett, Virginia

John Calipari, Kentucky

Kermit Davis, Ole Miss

Darian DeVries, Drake

Mark Few, Gonzaga

Jason Hooten, Sam Houston State

Justin Hutson, Fresno State

Tom Izzo, Michigan State

Dustin Kerns, Presbyterian

Chris Mack, Louisville

Ritchie McKay, Liberty

Eric Musselman, Nevada

Nate Oats, Buffalo

Matt Painter, Purdue

Mike Rhoades, VCU

Kelvin Sampson, Houston

Byron Smith, Prairie View A&M

Craig Smith, Utah State

Bruce Weber, Kansas State

Roy Williams, North Carolina

Steve Wojciechowski, Marquette

Mike Young, Wofford

John Becker, Vermont
Randy Bennett, Saint Mary's
Rick Byrd, Belmont
Bill Coen, Northeastern
Tim Cluess, Iona
Darian DeVries, Drake
Steve Forbes, ETSU
Joe Golding, Abilene Christian
Jason Hooten, Sam Houston State
Mike Huger, Bowling Green
Chris Jans, New Mexico State
Robert Jones, Norfolk State
Danny Kaspar, Texas State
Dustin Kerns, Presbyterian
Ritchie McKay, Liberty
Matt McMahon, Murray State
Joe Mihalich, Hofstra
Wes Miller, UNC Greensboro
Nate Oats, Buffalo
Chris Ogden, UT Arlington
Mark Pope, Utah Valley
Bob Richey, Furman
Byron Smith, Prairie View A&M
Russell Turner, UC Irvine
Mike Young, Wofford