CHARLOTTE, N.C. – Presbyterian College has earned the No. 1 seed in next week’s Big South Men’s Tennis Championship, it was determined this evening following the conclusion of the conference season. The Blue Hose finished the 2017 regular-season with a 6-1 Big South record to win their first regular-season title since 2014 and second overall.


Gardner-Webb and Campbell tied for second in the conference at 5-2, and the Runnin’ Bulldogs garner the No. 2 seed due to their head-to-head win over the Camels to push CU to the No. 3 seed.  Longwood and Winthrop tied for fourth in the standings at 4-3, and the Lancers clinch the No. 4 seed with their season victory over the fifth-seeded Eagles.  Radford claimed the No. 6 seed at 3-4 in league play, followed by UNC Asheville at No. 7 (1-6 record).  Liberty rounds out the seedings at No. 8 following its 0-7 finish. 


The 2017 Big South Men’s Tennis Championship will be held April 19-21 at the Wake Forest Tennis Complex on the campus of Wake Forest University in Winston-Salem, N.C.  The event begins Wednesday, April 19 with four quarterfinal matches and concludes with the Championship contest on Friday, April 21.  The Big South’s Tournament champion receives an automatic bid to the NCAA Men’s Tennis Championship.  The Championship schedule is as follows:


Wednesday, April 19 – Quarterfinals
Match 1:  No. 1 Presbyterian College vs. No. 8 Liberty, 9:00am
Match 2:  No. 2 Gardner-Webb vs. No. 7 UNC Asheville, 9:00am
Match 3:  No. 4 Longwood vs. No. 5 Winthrop, 12:00pm
Match 4:  No. 3 Campbell vs. No. 6 Radford, 12:00pm 


Thursday, April 20 – Semifinals
Match 5:  Match 1 winner vs. Match 3 winner, 12:00pm
Match 6:  Match 2 winner vs. Match 4 winner, 12:00pm


Friday, April 21 – Championship
Match 7:  Match 5 winner vs. Match 6 winner, 4:00pm