Allie Wright (Simpsonville, S.C.) and Ashton Stewart (Hartwell, Ga.), were named to the Big South All-Freshman and All-Academic Teams, respectively, it was announced Wednesday afternoon by the conference office. It is Stewart's second appearance on the conference All-Academic team after being honored in 2015.

Wright played in every set and started every match as a freshman. She was second on the team in kills and tops in attack percentage. She was also tied for second in service aces and tops in total blocks, solo blocks and block assists. Wright recorded double-digit kills in 18 matches, her career high of 17 coming against Delaware State, Charleston Southern, and UNC Asheville. Her career-high eight blocks against Gardner-Webb tied for fifth in the PC record book, her seven block assists against Loyola tied for second.

Stewart was a starter in all sets and matches this past season, and was fourth on the team in kills and second in attack percentage. Her total blocks, block assists and solo blocks were all second on the team as well. She recorded double-digit kills in five matches, including in three of her last five matches. Stewart recorded at least a block in all but four matches this season, her season high of six total blocks coming against Charleston Southern and Liberty.

2017 Big South Conference Volleyball Award Winners

First-Team All-Conference
Maddie Palmer, OH, Sr., Radford
Molly Livingston, MB, Jr, High Point
Haley Barnes, OH, Sr., High Point
Abby Bottomley, LIB, High Point
Cara Guthrie, OH, Jr., UNC Asheville
Anna Gragg, MB, Soph., Liberty
Allena Heath, OH, Soph., Campbell

Second-Team All-Conference
Haley Kleespies, S, Jr., Radford
Casey Goodwin, OH, Soph., Liberty
Katie Tylman, RS, Jr., High Point
Summer Schuitema, S, Sr., Campbell
Stephanie Neast, OPP, Soph., Radford
Keaupono Fey, MB, Sr., Winthrop
Kayla Schanback, LIB, Sr., Campbell

Honorable Mention All-Conference
Jessica Stocking, OH, Jr., Campbell
Phoebe Wu, OH, Jr., Winthrop
Jordan Hefner, MB, Jr., High Point
Valerie Gonzalez, OH, Jr., Radford
Siani Yamaguchi, S, Soph., Winthrop

All-Freshman Team
Abby Bottomley, LIB, High Point
Amaya Williams, S, Liberty
Katie Doering, RS, High Point
Ava Venema, MB, UNC Asheville
Hannah Schneggenburger, MB, Campbell
Kalysia Bates, MB, Charleston Southern
Allie Wright, MH, Presbyterian College

All-Academic Team
Summer Schuitema, S, Sr., Campbell
Kylie Klein, MB, Sr., Charleston Southern
Amanda Sahm, S, Jr., Gardner-Webb
Haley Barnes, OH, Sr., High Point
Anna Willey, S, Gr., Liberty
Ashton Stewart, MB, Sr., Presbyterian
Kaylor Nash, DS/L, Sr., Radford
Carter Kennedy, S, Soph., UNC Asheville
Carlie Skelton, DS, Jr., Winthrop

Player of the Year
Maddie Palmer, OH, Sr., Radford

Freshman of the Year
Abby Bottomley, LIB, High Point

Coach of the Year
Tom Mendoza, High Point

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Haley Barnes, OH, Sr., High Point