CHARLOTTE, N.C. – The Presbyterian College men’s golf team earned the No. 9 seed entering this week’s Big South Men’s Golf Championship, which will be hosted by High Point University at The Patriot Golf Club at Grand Harbor in Ninety Six, S.C.

Defending Big South men’s golf champion Liberty University earned the No. 1 based on its GolfStat national ranking of 48, the highest among the nine Big South men’s golf programs. Campbell is ranked No. 71 in the nation by GolfStat and receives the No. 2 seed, ahead of No. 3 seed Gardner-Webb, which is ranked No. 119 in the country.  Charleston Southern is the No. 4 seed with its ranking of 152, while Winthrop earns the No. 5 seed with its national ranking of No. 156.  Radford is No. 170 nationally and will be the No. 6 seed in the championship, with Longwood (187) receiving the No. 7 seed.  Host High Point is the No. 8 seed based on its ranking of 215, and Presbyterian College rounds out the championship field as the No. 9 seed (220).

Hayden Ploeger, Carson Spears, Cole Patterson, James Scott and Harrison Fisher will be competing for the Blue Hose.
The Patriot Golf Club (par 72, 7,120 yards) is hosting the Big South Men’s Golf Championship for the 12th time in 13 years, as the course has hosted the event every year since 2008 in addition to 2005 and 2006.  The 2017 Big South Men’s Golf Championship begins tomorrow with a practice round, followed by the three-day, 54-hole event from April 21-23.  The Championship is free and open to the public, and fans can follow the action online via GolfStat’s “Live Scoring” feature.  The 2017 champion will receive the Big South’s automatic berth to the NCAA Regionals.  The Conference Championship schedule is as follows, and is subject to change:

Frid, April 21                       First Round
                         8:00-8:40am       #7 Longwood, #8 High Point, #9 Presbyterian College (No. 1 hole)
                         8:50-9:30am       #4 Charleston Southern, #5 Winthrop, #6 Radford (No. 1 hole)
                         9:40-10:20am     #1 Liberty, #2 Campbell, #3 Gardner-Webb (No. 1 hole)

Sat, April 22                       Second Round
                         8:00-8:40am       7th-place, 8th-place, 9th-place (No. 1 hole)
                         8:50-9:30am       4th-place, 5th-place, 6th-place (No. 1 hole)
                         9:40-10:20am     1st-place, 2nd-place, 3rd-place (No. 1 hole)

Sun, April 23                        Final Round
                         8:00-8:40am       4th-place, 5th-place, 6th-place (No. 1 hole)
                         8:30-9:10am       7th-place, 8th-place, 9th-place (No. 10 hole)
                         8:50-9:30am       1st-place, 2nd-place, 3rd-place (No. 1 hole)

Meanwhile, the Big South Conference will announce its 2017 All-Conference Team, All-Freshman Team, All-Academic Team, All-Championship Team and the annual award winners on Sunday, April 23 following the event at the post-Championship awards ceremony.