The Big South Conference announced its annual Softball All-Conference Awards and two Presbyterian College student-athletes were honored.  Picking up Second-Team and All-Freshman Team honors was Macy Hyatt (Latta, S.C.), with teammate Jonnie Petree (Hendersonville, N.C.) tabbed for a spot on the All-Academic Team.


Hyatt played in 45 games, starting in 43 this season.  She saw time as a catcher in 24 games and at third in 16.  She led PC in batting, hits, and on base percentage, and was second in slugging percentage, total bases, and walks.  She was also in the top 25 in the league in hitting.  Her season highs included three hits against Tennessee Tech, four total bases in two games, and eight putouts against DePaul.  She also caught three runners stealing against Marshall earlier this year.


Petree played and started in all 46 games, and led the team in hits and runs scored.  She was also second in total bases and put-outs.  Petree led the team in stolen bases and was top 10 in the league in stolen bases and stolen base attempts.  She was also sixth in league in stolen bases per game.  Her team-leading 146 at-bats was ninth in the Big South as well.





First-Team All-Conference

OF    Jade Gandara, Jr., Charleston Southern

OF    Andria Booth, Jr., Gardner-Webb

OF    Madison Via, Fr., Liberty

1B     Katie Prebble, Fr., Gardner-Webb (tie)

1B     Autumn Bishop, Soph., Liberty (tie)

2B    Amber Bishop, Soph., Liberty

SS    Caroline Smith, Jr., Campbell

3B    Rachel McCollum, R-Soph., Campbell

C      Kaylynn Batten, Jr., Longwood

P      Julia DiMartino, Jr., Liberty

P      Sydney Gay, Jr., Longwood

DP    Lizabeth McCurry, R-Sr., Campbell

UTL   Mallory Kasinger, Soph., Charleston Southern


Second-Team All-Conference

OF    Kaylee Wacaster, Jr., Gardner-Webb

OF    Annie Bakenhus, Jr., Charleston Southern

OF    Tori Zavodny, Sr., Liberty

1B     Ansley Gilreath, Soph., Winthrop

2B   Destiny Martinez, Soph., Longwood

SS    Sarah Robertson, Jr., Liberty

3B    Jaclyn Amader, Jr., Liberty

C      Ashley Westbrooks, Soph., Winthrop

P      Chase Cassady, Jr., Liberty

P      Kiley Majette, Jr., Winthrop

DP    Karleigh Donovan, Jr., Longwood

UTL   Macy Hyatt, Fr., Presbyterian


Honorable Mention All-Conference

Jasmeen Click, OF, Jr., Liberty

Jordan Clark, OF, Jr., Longwood

Krista Kelly, OF, Sr., Longwood

Abby Morrow, P, Sr., Radford

Kayla Huffman, P, Jr., Radford


All-Freshman Team

Katie Prebble, 1B, Gardner-Webb

Sydney Backstrom, P, Longwood

Madison Via, OF, Liberty

Talia Douglas, 3B, Radford

Katie Manring, INF, Campbell

Katie Stettler, SS, Gardner-Webb

Sarah Brown, 3B, Charleston Southern

Macy Hyatt, UTL, Presbyterian

Bri Bryant, OF, Campbell

Jenna Dunn, OF, Longwood

Meghan Gagliano, OF, Charleston Southern

Brianna Mills, OF, Radford


All-Academic Team

Caroline Smith, SS, Jr., Campbell

Laina Holmgren, UTL, Sr., Charleston Southern

Ashley Wark, P, Sr., Gardner-Webb

Jessica Cicerchia, 2B, Sr., Liberty

Jessica Smith, 3B, Jr., Longwood

Jonnie Petree, UTL, Jr., Presbyterian

Marissa Gagliano, SS, Jr., Radford

Blake Wallert, INF, Jr., Winthrop


Player of the Year

Katie Prebble, 1B, Fr., Gardner-Webb


Pitcher of the Year

Julia DiMartino, Jr., Liberty


Freshman of the Year

Katie Prebble, 1B, Gardner-Webb


Coach of the Year

Dot Richardson, Liberty


Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Caroline Smith, SS, Jr., Campbell