The Presbyterian College men's basketball team will enter next week's Big South Conference Tournament as the #9-seed and will travel to #8-seed Charleston Southern Tuesday, Feb. 27.  Tip-off time will be determined shortly.


The winner will take on #1-seed UNC Asheville in the quarterfinals March 1. The quarterfinals and semifinals will be held at Kimmel Arena in Asheville, N.C.


UNC Asheville claimed the outright Big South regular-season championship at 13-5, and the Bulldogs are the No. #1-seed for the first time since 2012.  As the #1 seed, Asheville will host the quarterfinals and semifinals, March 1-2, while the highest remaining seed will host the Championship game on Sunday, March 4 at 1:00pm on ESPN.  In addition, the Bulldogs have secured the Big South’s automatic bid to the NIT should they not win the Conference Tournament.


The full seedings and parings will be determined Sunday, Feb. 25, as the updated RPI Report will be needed to determine #2 and #3 seeds between Radford and Winthrop.


Campbell is the #4-seed with its 10-8 conference record, while Presbyterian College (4-14) is the #9-seed and Longwood (3-15) is the #10-seed.


A four-way tie for fifth-place featured Liberty, Gardner-Webb, High Point and Charleston Southern all finish at 9-9 in league play.  The first multi-team tiebreaker of collective head-to-head records did not create an advantage as each team went 3-3 against the other.  Moving to the top of the standings, Charleston Southern fell to the #8-seed as it went 0-2 against Asheville compared to 1-1 for the other three.  The remaining three-way tie between Liberty, Gardner-Webb and High Point was broken by the combined record against second-place Radford and Winthrop, with the Flames receiving the #5-seed with its 2-2 head-to-head mark compared to 1-3 for both GWU and HPU.  That reduced two-way tie between Gardner-Webb and High Point was settled by ninth-place Presbyterian due to no advantage head-to-head or against the top eight teams in the standings.  Gardner-Webb swept the Blue Hose to collect the #6-seed, while High Point went 1-1 to fall to the #7 line.  The top six teams earned byes into the quarterfinals.


First round action begins Tuesday night, Feb. 27 with #7 High Point hosting #10 Longwood, while #8 Charleston Southern will host #9 Presbyterian College.  The winners of both contests advance to Thursday’s quarterfinals round, which begins at 1:00pm at Kimmel Arena with the #2 seed facing the winner of High Point/Longwood, followed by the #3 seed vs. #6 Gardner-Webb at 3:00pm.  The 7:00pm game will feature #1 UNC Asheville vs. the winner of Charleston Southern/Presbyterian, with #4 Campbell playing #5 Liberty at 9:00pm.


The two first round games on Feb. 27 will be broadcast live on the Big South Network and Roku.  The 2018 Big South Men’s Basketball Championship will continue with the quarterfinals on Thursday, March 1 and semifinals on Friday, March 2 with both days being carried live on ESPN3 and WatchESPN.  The Championship game will be contested Sunday, March 4 live on ESPN at 1:00pm.  The Big South’s Tournament champion receives an automatic bid to the NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament.  The Conference Championship schedule is as follows:


First Round – Tuesday, Feb. 27 – Big South Network/Roku

Game 1: #10 Longwood at #7 High Point, TBD

Game 2: #9 Presbyterian at #8 Charleston Southern, TBD


Quarterfinals – Thursday, March 1 – ESPN3

Game 3: #2 (Radford/Winthrop) vs. #7/10 winner, 1:00pm

Game 4: #3 (Radford/Winthrop) vs. #6 Gardner-Webb, 3:00pm

Game 5: #1 UNC Asheville vs. #8/9 winner, 7:00pm

Game 6: #4 Campbell vs. #5 Liberty, 9:00pm


Semifinals - Friday, March 2 – ESPN3

Game 7:  Semifinals – Game 3 winner vs. Game 4 winner, 6:00pm

Game 8:  Semifinals – Game 5 winner vs. Game 6 winner, 8:00pm


Championship - Sunday, March 4 – ESPN

Game 9:  Championship – Game 7 winner vs. Game 8 winner, 1:00pm