INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – The Presbyterian College women’s soccer and men’s tennis teams have earned Public Recognition Awards from the NCAA for their latest Academic Progress Report (APR) scores. The distinctions honor the two programs for APRs in the top 10 percent of Division I women’s soccer and men’s tennis programs in the nation.

The honors mark the fifth straight for women’s soccer and the second for men’s tennis. PC ranks as one of only two Big South Conference schools to earn recognition for multiple sports and stands as the only school to have a women’s soccer program recognized.

Thirteen Big South Conference athletic programs earned Public Recognition Awards, the fifth-straight year with double figure honorees and six overall in the nine years of the NCAA’s academic reform program.

The APR provides a real-time look at a team's academic success each semester by tracking the academic progress of each student-athlete on scholarship.  The APR accounts for eligibility, retention and graduation and provides a measure of each team's academic performance. These awards are given each year to teams with APRs in the top 10 percent in each sport and the results are based on the 2012-13 academic year.

Each year, the NCAA tracks the classroom performance of student-athletes on every Division I team through the annual scorecard of academic achievement, known as APR.  The score honors selected Division I sports teams by publicly recognizing their latest multiyear APR (the most recent APRs are based on scores from the 2009-10, 2010-11, 2011-12 and 2012-13 academic years).  This announcement is part of the overall Division I academic reform effort and is intended to highlight teams who demonstrate a commitment to academic progress and retention of student-athletes by achieving the top APRs within their respective sports.  By measuring eligibility, graduation and retention each semester or quarter, the APR provides a clear picture of academic performance in each sport.

Multiyear APRs for all Division I sports teams will be announced on May 14.