The Big South announced its annual softball all-conference awards, as decided by the league head coaches, and Presbyterian College's Tera Powell was named to the second team.  Morgan Durham was also selected to the All-Academic Team, as chosen by the conference sports information directors.

Radford's Nichole Beall was named Player of the Year while Jackie Jenkins, also a Highlander, was named Pitcher of the Year.  Radford's Mickey Dean was honored as Coach of the Year.

Powell has played and started in every game for PC this season in the outfield.  She has a .273 batting average which is good enough for fourth on the team.  Powell is first on the team in hits (45) and fourth in total bases (49), as well as first in total plate appearances (176).  She is 10th in the Big South in hits as well.  Powell, with her .333 batting average in league play, is 10th as well.

Powell recently moved to first in the PC Division era season record books in at-bats and is tied for sixth in most hits

Durham started in 133 of her 143 career games including all 47 this season at second base.  She leads the team in runs scored (27), RBI (22) and stolen bases (18).  Durham, who carries a 3.43 GPA, is third on the team in slugging percentage (.377) and second in total bases (52).  The Psychology major is also top third in fielding percentage (.983), assists (69) and fourth in putouts (104).  She has posted nine multiple RBI games this season, including a career-high three against Elon.

Durham is eighth in the Big South in runs scored and third in stolen bases.  She is fourth in the PC season record books in runs scored and stolen bases.

The Blue Hose face Coastal Carolina in the first round of the Big South Tournament Thursday, May 10 at 11:30 a.m.


First-Team All-Conference
OF:  Meredith Crisante, Liberty
OF:  Stephanie Jones, Campbell
OF:  Hannah Ojeda, Radford
1B:  Morgan Baker, Gardner-Webb
2B:  Samantha Meenaghan, Gardner-Webb
SS:  Nichole Beall, Radford
3B:  Kory Hayden, Coastal Carolina
C:    Taylor McGee, Campbell
DP:  Chelsey Schoenfeldt, Winthrop
UT: Sarah Maples, Coastal Carolina
P:     Jackie Jenkins, Radford
P:     Kiana Quolas, Coastal Carolina

Second Team All-Conference
OF:  Jana Matthews, Charleston Southern
OF: Katie Zavodny, Liberty
OF:  Sarah Forgacs, Campbell
OF:  Tera Powell, Presbyterian College
1B:  Jessie Hutchens, Radford
2B:  Jackie Warr, Radford
SS:  Ericka Nesbitt, Campbell
3B:  Vicki Madden, Radford
C:    McKenzie Morenus, Gardner-Webb
DP:  Raven Lee, Campbell
UT: Amanda Gomes, Gardner-Webb
P:     Cindy Boomhower, Gardner-Webb
P:     Morgan Dowdy, Charleston Southern

All-Academic Team
Taylor McGee, Campbell
Kristin Kelleher, Charleston Southern
Sarah Maples, Coastal Carolina
Jane Savage, Gardner-Webb
Sammi Shivock, Liberty
Morgan Durham, Presbyterian College
Ryndee Ruch, Radford
Chelsey Schoenfeldt, Winthrop

Player of the Year
Nichole Beall, Radford

Pitcher of the Year
Jackie Jenkins, Radford

Co-Freshman of the Year
Stephanie Jones, Campbell
Kory Hayden, Coastal Carolina

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Jane Savage, Gardner-Webb

Coach of the Year
Mickey Dean, Radford